The Apple Home Hub is the product most people expect Apple to show at its October 13 “Welcome Home” launch, but Apple hasn’t confirmed it yet. The rumored device is a roughly 6-inch smart display with a camera, Siri AI and a price near $350. Reports say it ships in mid-November, after the other products.
Here’s a quick snapshot before we get into the details.
- Apple’s only confirmed message: “Welcome home. October 13,” posted by marketing chief Greg Joswiak.
- Rumored screen: about 6 inches, in a wall-mounted or tabletop version.
- Rumored price: around $350.
- Rumored shipping: mid-November, per Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman.
- Rumored software: a new “homeOS” built around Siri AI.
Everything below except the date is a report or leak, not an Apple announcement.
What the Apple Home Hub is supposed to be
Think of it as a small iPad that lives on a kitchen counter or wall and acts like a HomePod with a screen. According to MacRumors’ roundup of the reports, it has a square display of about 6 inches with thin black bezels.
It controls your smart home, takes FaceTime calls and answers to Siri. Voice is meant to be the main way you use it, with touch as backup.
Smart displays aren’t new, since Amazon and Google have sold them for years. Apple’s pitch is tighter iPhone integration and a Siri that can finally handle more than timers and music.
There’s no battery. It plugs in over USB-C, so it’s a fixed spot in your home, not something you carry around.
Two designs, a camera and presence sensors
Reports describe two versions. One is a wall-mounted model with a thin speaker and microphone base. The other sits on a table with a half-dome speaker base that looks a bit like the old iMac G4.
The sensors are where it gets interesting. Here’s what has been reported so far.
- A 1080p front camera for FaceTime and recognizing who’s standing there.
- Proximity sensing, so the screen can show big temperature numbers from across the room and thermostat controls up close.
- Person detection that can trigger automations, like turning on lights when you walk in.
- Face plus voice recognition to switch to your profile, and a visitor mode that hides personal info.
That last one matters if you have guests or kids. A shared screen in the hallway shouldn’t read out your messages.
homeOS and Siri AI: the software is the real story
The hub reportedly runs a new operating system called homeOS, which Apple has apparently trademarked through a shell company. It borrows from tvOS, watchOS and iOS.
There’s no App Store. You’d get a fixed set of Apple apps such as Home, Music, Podcasts, Photos, Calendar, Safari, FaceTime and Messages, plus widgets, clock faces and an AirPlay receiver. With two or more hubs, you could use them as a room-to-room intercom.
The reports also say Apple delayed the hub because the new Siri wasn’t ready. That Siri is now said to be ready in iOS 27, which is why the launch is landing this fall. If you want the other half of the lineup, our post on the new HomePod mini and Apple TV 4K covers it.
How the Apple Home Hub fits into the October 13 lineup
Apple is expected to show at least three devices. The table below compares what’s been reported, and none of it is official.
| Device | Rumored changes | Rumored price | Rumored shipping |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home Hub | 6-inch display, camera, presence sensors, homeOS, Siri AI | About $350 | Mid-November |
| HomePod mini | New colors, N1 wireless chip, faster processor for Siri AI | Not reported | Around October 30 |
| Apple TV 4K | A19-class chip, more RAM, N1 chip, upgraded Siri Remote | Not reported | Around October 30 |
The hub is the new product here. The other two are updates to devices you can already buy. Details come from MacRumors’ launch coverage and the guide linked above.
Price and release date: what to believe
The $350 figure keeps showing up, and it would put the hub above Amazon’s Echo Show. Treat it as a good guess, not a sticker price.
On timing, Gurman reported on October 11 that the hub would ship around mid-November, later than the Apple TV 4K and HomePod mini. Apple may also announce it without a firm ship date.
Apple has hinted at the theme, not the product list. It’s also not a traditional event: some media got hands-on time in New York, and others will likely get press releases. If you already use smart locks and thermostats, see our look at the LG accessories Apple helped design too.
Frequently Asked Questions
Has Apple announced the Home Hub?
Not by name, as far as the reports show. Apple only said it would launch products on October 13 under the “Welcome Home” theme. The hub is the most likely headline device.
How much will the Apple Home Hub cost?
Reports point to about $350. Apple hasn’t confirmed any price.
When can I buy the Apple Home Hub?
Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman says mid-November. The Apple TV 4K and HomePod mini are expected sooner.
Will I need an iPhone to use it?
Reports say yes for initial setup. Widgets from your phone would appear only when the main user is home.
My take: wait for Apple’s own specs and price before you plan around this. If the $350 price holds and Siri AI works as promised, it could be the first Apple home device worth buying for the screen. If you don’t already live in Apple’s ecosystem, a cheaper smart display will probably do the job.


Leave a Reply